Cajun Chicken Pasta

Hope everyone had a good start to the week.  And for those who lost power have finally gotten things back to normal!  We have no heat at our house but its not because we lost power…its because our property managers are ding dongs and don’t know how to fix it.  Gotta love Southie! 

Moving on.  So last night I made such a delish dinner that I had to share the recipe.  I found this recipe on a blog called Pearls, Handcuffs and Happy Hour (how fabulous is that name???).  Check it out HERE

Apparently this is a Chili’s Knockoff…and a pretty good one at that! 

CAJUN CHICKEN PASTA

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
4 tsp. cajun seasoning {I used Tony Chachere’s}
4 tbsp. butter
3 cups heavy whipping cream
1/2 tsp. lemon pepper seasoning
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. garlic powder {garlic salt would be good here, too!}
1 pkg. penne pasta
Roma tomatoes, chopped
Shredded parmesan cheese
Green onions {optional}

I just wanted to add some additions/substitutes:

I used ½ “Light” cream and ½ 1% milk.  I also only used 2 cups, not 3. In addition to the spices added to the sauce, I decided to add a little parmesan as well. 

After I removed the chicken from the pan (cooked), I used the same pan to sautée mushrooms (this is when I added the roma tomatoes and scallions instead of after).   Once this mushroom mix was all cooked, I added the sauce and chicken back to the pan to combine all the ingredients.  I also used whole grain pasta instead.  It was so delicious…can’t wait to have leftovers tonight!

You can find the full recipe here… http://pearls-handcuffs-happyhour.blogspot.com/2011/05/chilis-knockoff.html

Leave a Reply

