Thanksgiving Hangover

Hope everyone had a great thanksgiving!  It was such a great weekend spending time with my family and old friends.  I definitely ate too much and kept it going all weekend long (side note…those Chedder Bacon Rounds I mentioned here are delish.  I made them yesterday for the Pats game and would highly recommend). 

Anyone make any good buys on Black Friday!  I purchased more gifts for myself than anyone else, as suspected.  One of the goodies I bought that I am super anxious to use is the Ninja Blender.  I had never heard of it but my mom says people swear by theirs and for $19 at Walmart, figured it was worth the buy!  My big thing I am hoping to use it for (other than frozen cocktails OBVIOUSLY) is breakfast smoothies.  I vowed starting today, I am back on the healthy kick (or as healthy as possible for me)….gym during the week, healthy meals and portion control.  So far so good…bootcamp class down already, group power tomorrow.  So far, I’ve made smart meal decisions, I’m on track!

Here are two smoothie recipes I am looking forward to try…

Oatmeal Smoothie

Ingredients
1 cup ice
1/2 cup frozen raspberries
1/2 cup plain lowfat yogurt
1 banana
1/2 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
1 tablespoon honey
1 cup coconut water (or other liquid, such as juice)

Directions
1. Place ice and raspberries in the bottom of blender, and all other ingredients on top. Whir until completely smooth. Serve.

And this next bad boy which I have already mentioned on the blog but have yet to make…

Citrus Berry Smoothie

 

Ingredients
1 1/4 cups fresh berries
3/4 cup low-fat plain yogurt
1/2 cup orange juice
2 tablespoons nonfat dry milk
1 tablespoon toasted wheat germ
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions
1.  Place berries, yogurt, orange juice, dry milk, wheat germ, honey and vanilla in a blender and blend until smooth.

Leave a Reply

