Tony Lukes Italian Roast Pork Sandwich

Over the superbowl weekend…I got to experience an Italian Roast Pork Sandwich that mimics Tony Lukes (which is a walk-up sandwich joint in South Philly).  This was probably the best pulled pork I’ve ever had.  I should put in a quick disclaimer though….I am not a big BBQ fan which is usually the flavor of alot of pulled porks.  I have to say, this was a nice change of pace.

My good friend Joe is originally from South Jersey and apparently this is the way they do it down there.  I had to share this recipe with you guys.  Joe claims its super easy to make….very little ingredients on the pulled pork (rosemary, parsley, garlic, cracked pepper, salt and olive oil).  The key is to let it slow cook for over 8 hours.

And the true “Italian” way to eat this is with the broccoli rabe, roasted red peppers and provolone cheese.  I omitted the broccoli rabe & red peppers and it was still to die for!

Here is the recipe!!!!

Leave a Reply

