DIY Gel Manicure (sort of!)

As I was perusing Pinterest the other day, I came across an at-home gel polish routine here at The Small Things Blog

Now…I am not a HUGE fan of gel or shellac manicures however I do occasionally get them when I am going on a long weekend or vacation, etc.  I find that you are really just better off with a weekly manicure to save your nails from the peeling and brittleness that comes along with the removal of a gel mani.

What I like about this post I found the other day is that you only apply 1 thin coat of 5 Minute Gel Polish and use regular polishes for the rest of the manicure.  Check it out….

What you need:

– 5 Minute Gel Polish Activator which can be found in the Nutra Nail package
– Base Coat….or for those multitaskers out there – Essie’s 3-Way Glaze which is a base, hardener, and top coat
– Your favorite regular colored polish

Apply a thin coat of the Gel Activator…..followed by a basecoat of your choice. Slap on 2 coats of regular polish and finish with a top coat! Kate at The Small Things blog says her nails were chip free for longer than a regular manicure and it was fairly easy to remove.

Just to add….I found this No Mess Remover from Nutra Nail for gel manicures! I will have to try it out next time I have one.

Leave a Reply

