Crockpot Salsa Chicken

I’m BAAACK!

So I definitely took a mini hiatus from blogging.  But I am hoping to get back in the swing of things.  Its been a crazy few months…but we officially set a date for our wedding and found a venue!  June 22nd 2013!!!!!  We are very excited to have that first big planning step checked off the list!  Now hopefully things will start to fall into place.  Next on the list…colors schemes, photographer, music….oh my!

Moving on…

While I was on “sabbatical” I thought about doing a post once a week for the next month or so on “crockpot” meals.  I really need to be better friends with my slow cooker because they really are the easiest things!  Pop something in first thing in the morning and voila…dinner hours later.

So by request, I wanted to share with you last weeks crockpot recipe found on Fake Ginger.  Its pretty simple with a handful of ingredients and totally adjustable to your own taste buds!  I threw the chicken, soup, salsa and taco seasoning in the crockpot and left it on low while I was at work.  I got home, shredded it, added corn and black beans and cooked a little more.  It was DELISH!  Served over brown rice with some sour cream, cheese and scallions.  Highly RECOMMEND!  Check it out…

Ingredients:
1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 can cream of mushroom or cream of chicken soup (I used the cream of chicken)
1 cup salsa
1 package taco seasoning (I used 1 Tbsp of my homemade taco seasoning)
1 cup sour cream
cilantro, for serving (optional) (I also added a little shredded cheddar-jack, black beans and scallion on top)

Directions:
Put chicken, soup, and salsa in slow cooker. Sprinkle taco seasoning over everything. Cook on low for 6 hours. If shredding the chicken, pull the breasts out and shred; return back to slow cooker. Stir in sour cream and heat just until everything is combined

And if you haven’t heard of Renoylds Slow Cooker Liners….get with the program.  They are life savers…no scrubbing or soaking, its pretty awesome.   And if you go to their website, you can print a $1 off coupon!

 

Leave a Reply

