End of Summer Blues

It’s sad to think that we just breezed through another summer already!  Why is it that the best months of the year (in my opinion…SUMMER) always seem to fly by.  I definitely made the most of it this Labor Day Weekend and hit up the beach as much as possible….and I’m already eyeing next weekend’s forecast which for us New Englanders looks to be another 10!  So while this past weekend may not have been the last official beach weekend, it was my last weekend of gluttony and laziness.  Most of my August was not filled with trips to the gym and smoothie bar…HA….but drinks after work, random Wednesday dinners out, and eating whatever my little heart desired.  But now since I’m under the 1-year mark for our big day, I think it’s time I start taking this whole “getting in shape” a little more seriously.

That being sad, I wanted to share with you a “cleanse” I am eager to try.  And let me start out by saying it’s not so much a cleanse to lose weight quick but more of a simple meal plan that will hit the reset button and give you a good start to a healthy lifestyle.  I am not someone that likes to try all these “diets” nor can my body handle it usually but its more eating healthier, more lean protein, lots of veggies and fruits and easy on the carbs.  Anyways….I plan on trying the Look Better Naked or LBN Cleanse from Women’s Health in the next week or so.  While I am on the 2-day cleanse, I do not plan on working out because I think I would be way to weak and just pass out!  I will be sure to provide you with a recap or update once if I complete it!

Breakfast

Light shake:

• Blend 1 cup skim (or soy, almond, rice, or hemp) milk
• 1 cup berries
• 1 tsp peanut butter (or flaxseed oil)
• 1 cup of ice until frothy
Bonus: Add a dash of cocoa powder!

Snack
• 1 cup sliced cucumbers
• 1 cup green tea
Bonus: Add a little vinegar and fresh dill to your cucumbers, or make a cucumber salad by slicing a couple of unpeeled cucumbers into rounds, dousing them with flavored vinegar and letting them marinate for an hour. Drain off the vinegar and keep them in the fridge.
Bonus: Drink your green tea straight up andhot—or brew a whole pot, toss in some fresh mint leaves or slices of peeled fresh ginger, and let steep for a few hours. Store in the fridge and pour it over ice when you’re thirsty.

Lunch
• Steamed or raw greens (romaine, spinach, mesclun mix, bok choy, arugula, watercress, frisee, endive, etc.)
• 4 oz lean protein (white meat chicken, firm tofu, lean beef, fish)
• 2 tsp oil (olive, sunflower, walnut)
Bonus: Mix-and-match your greens! You can get a lot of no-cal flavor simply by adding arugula or watercress, both of which have a peppery kick. Or you can toss a handful of fresh basil, cilantro, or flat-leaf parsley in with salad greens for an extra jolt of flavor.

Snack
• 10 asparagus spears, blanched
• 1 cup green tea
Bonus: Dip the asparagus into nonfat yogurt swirled with Dijon mustard to taste.

Dinner
• Steamed or raw greens
• 4 oz lean protein
• 2 tsp oil
Bonus: Be creative with your 2 teaspoons of oil, at both lunch and dinner. Whisk it with a teaspoon of vinegar and some herbs for vinaigrette; use it to sauté bite-size pieces of white-meat chicken, lean beef, tofu, or fish; or mix it with a flavor-booster spice mix to rub on chicken, beef, or fish before broiling or grilling.

Stay Tuned…

 

Leave a Reply

